January 2nd 1981

Diary entry:

Jan 2nd – ‘Lunch at Ball’s Bros with Tony, Eddie, Sue, Jenny, Carol and Moira. Was very nice. Can’t believe I spent £3 on a lasagne as i’ve almost run out of money and don’t get paid ’til the 15th. It was a nice day back in work though, had lots to do. After work me David and Sonia went over to Karen and Martin’s for dinner. She made lasagne’. When I got home Mum had saved me a huge plate of bolognese’.

Life aged just seventeen definitely needed to become more colourful . . . Where were my thoughts, feelings? Just mundane facts. I also wrote on the same day ‘Me and David have made up a really good dance routine to ‘Super Trouper’, which we showed everyone at the working men’s club the other night’. Ahh, youth. ‘Super Trouper’ had just been knocked of the top spot on the UK charts by John Lennon MUCH to my dismay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January 2nd 1981

  1. kevinricks says:

    Its not mundane! There’s a lot of Italian food in it though. I found this in the UK Newspaper the Guardian this weekend – it’s similar, you’ll see what i mean:

    from: http://www.guardian.co.uk/theguardian/2013/jan/04/pickles-in-a-sweat

    There’s nothing like teenage diaries for putting momentous historical events in perspective (Banalities and bathos, 31 December). This is my entry for 20 July 1969. “I went to arts centre (by myself!) in yellow cords and blouse. Ian was there but he didn’t speak to me. Got rhyme put in my handbag from someone who’s apparently got a crush on me. It’s Nicholas I think. UGH. Man landed on moon.”
    Dinah Hall
    Lustleigh, Devon

    • Only mundane for me at the time, but with hindsight it was pretty exciting. I love diaries – anyone’s. If i’m sitting at a bus stop talking to an old lady, or in the pub with a kid of nineteen . . I want to know their story. Everyone has a story, and all of us have things inside we want to speak about and explain. And yes, the historical events which crop up from time to time are fascinating. Glad you like, I will seek out other’s on here myself.

Leave a Reply

